New Mexico State Personnel
Board

State Personnel Office

SUSANA MARTINEZ
GOVERNOR
Eugene J. Moser State Personnel Board
Director Paul T. Yarbrough, Chairman
Christine Romero, Vice Chairman
Nivia L. Thames

Deputy Director Devon Day Chris Sanchez
Rebecca Long

Interpretative Memorandum 2011 — 004

Date: August 12, 2011
To: Cabinet Secretaries, Agency Directors and Human Resource Managers
From: Eugene J. Moser,gtate Personnel Director

Subject: Compensatory Time

1. Purpose

This memorandum is developed to provide interpretation and guidance regarding the
application of State Personnel Board (SPB) Rule, Subsection J of Overtime, 1.7.4.14
NMAC which provides that:

“Agencies shall pay Fair Labor Standards Act covered, non-exempt employees for overtime
worked unless the employee, in advance, agrees in writing to compensatory time off.
Employees may accrue a maximum of 240 hours of compensatory time, unless otherwise
authorized by statute and shall be paid for accrued compensatory time upon separation.”
Review of department policies governing compensatory time shows a wide variation in
balances that can be accrued (from 40 hours to 240 hours) and when compensatory time
should be used or paid out (from 3 months to unstated). Additionally, some departments
only offer compensatory time when overtime is assigned.

2. Background

The current collective bargaining agreements (CBA) provide that:

¢ When overtime must be worked and compensatory leave is available to offer, the FLSA
non-exempt employee may be offered a choice between cash payment or compensatory
time; and

2600 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, New Mexico, 87505 (505) 476-7759



e If the employee is only offered compensatory time, the employee may decline the work
assignment without any adverse action.

While compensatory time off provides a clear benefit in managing departmental operations,
its usage should always be given considerable thought and consideration of the impact to
the budget by deferring the liability. This creates issues because the level of compensatory
time paid out will be paid out based upon an employee’s hourly rate at the time it is paid out
and not the hourly rate when the liability was incurred.

. Guidelines

The following is suggested for implementation and management of usage of compensatory
leave within state government:

e All supervisors must ensure that granting compensatory leave is offered only when other
viable options have been assessed; and

¢ An employee is offered a choice between receiving the cash payment or compensatory
time for overtime worked. This protects the manager’s ability to assign the employee the
overtime. If only compensatory leave is offered the employee covered by CBA has the
option to refuse to work.

¢ If compensatory leave is offered it should be either used or paid within 6 months from
the date the overtime is worked.

This agreement for compensatory time should be in writing. If the employee does not agree
to this request, cash payment for the overtime should be made rather than using the
compensatory time.

2600 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, New Mexico, 87505 (505) 476-7759



